Submitted by our Cobble Hill Clients:

FASCIA RELEASE: FLEXIBILITY AND PAIN RELIEF - Honestly, anyone and everyone should take this class. I had no idea the type of tension and pain my body is holding in... Fortunately, Cadence creates a safe, comfortable, and friendly atmosphere while educating her class about their bodies. Definitely coming back and hoping to take some of the other classes available!

SPRINGBOARD PILATES - I love cadence! She's approachable and helpful.

FASCIA RELEASE: FLEXIBILITY AND PAIN RELIEF - Cadence always take the time to get to know her clients personally, while offering well thought out personal suggestions to alleviate issues you are having anywhere on your body. Love coming here.

STRENGTH & CONTROLOGY - Nice workout with a good blend of exercises and equipment. He offered modifications for most exercises based on individual level or injury. I will definitely be back.

STRENGTH & CONTROLOGY - Amazing class. Great strength training and knowledgable instructor!

SPRINGBOARD ATHLETICS - Melanie was terrific! All of the instructors at BK Strength have been excellent. It is a great studio.

STRENGTH & CONTROLOGY - Best class I've ever been to. Cadence is such an incredible motivator. When she demonstrated and/or explained each exercise i didnt think i would be able to do them (especially the planks, which have always been death to me), but i was able to push through the majority of them. Im definitely going to come back for this class, and once my class pass is over will still come back.

Via our Instagram page:

  • @bkstrength re Holistic Coaching: Thank you for helping me realize that hunger is not a sign of failure, but a normal signal I should listen to! :)
  • @bkstrength thank you for motivating me and helping get to this point. Couldn't have gotten here without you.
  • @bkstrength I'm in full on BEAST MODE! I love this so much. Thank you. I feel amazing.
  • @bkstrength I've learned the hard way that I don't just need to roll out my legs after tough workouts - my feet are important too! Taking what I learned @bkstrength last night in #FasciaRelease and adding it to my nightly routine. #ouch
  • Tried and tested! I had a private lesson at Brooklyn Strength this morning, where Jemima Kirke is reported to work out!#Girls Best way to describe it was "Athletic Pilates". It was not easy! Lots of machine work with added resistance, small movements but lots of burn, and some cardio bursts between exercises. Have had great posture all day as a result and keeping tummy tucked in without even thinking about it. Thanks BK Strength for the effective morning workout! 😊💪

Via Twitter:

  • great pilates/strength class @bkstrength !
  • Love that @BkStrength is featured in this @refinery29 piece! Great place to workout! @refinery29/plussizepilates
  • The carry-on rollerbag that was always too heavy to hoist up overhead now goes up with ease. Thank you @BkStrength !! :-D

Via our Facebook Reviews:

Anja Capel reviewed Brooklyn Strength — 5 star

Cadence has taught me so much about myself and my body. She is just fantastic, hilarious and an amazing person.

Tinka Jonakova reviewed Brooklyn Strength — 5 star

cadence is a fucking mastermind. she's helping me solve the mysteries of my body, and I have a new consciousness.

 

 

 

Manhattan, NY

0 friends

1 review

10/11/2014

I took my first springboard class at Brooklyn Strength's Cobble Hill studio and it was fantastic! I had never used a springboard before and was worried that I'd have trouble adjusting the equipment, but my concerns evaporated as soon as the class began. The springboard is pleasing both to the eye and to the touch, made of smooth wood, shiny chrome springs, and clips that are no different from the one at the end of my dog's leash. There's nothing complicated about it. In fact its elegant simplicity, and the teacher's excellent instruction made it an amazing tool for a creative, thorough, full-body workout. The class was perfectly paced, filled with a variety of movement that was challenging and pure fun, and the music was unobtrusive, yet energizing. The instructor's encouragement was sincere, and he maintained a vigilant eye on my form, making sure I was working the correct muscles while protecting me from potential injury. I can't wait for my next class!

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Annie C.

Brooklyn, NY

0 friends

5 reviews

8/22/2013

I became a Brooklyn Strength client just three months ago and have been amazed by the way my experience there has transformed both my health and state of mind.  The entire staff is consistently kind, knowledgeable, intuitive, and empathetic.  The beautiful, sunny studio in the heart of the adorable Brooklyn Heights neighborhood truly feels like home.  The studio is clean and extremely environmentally conscious! In addition, they support other small businesses, selling a range of healthy and environmentally friendly products.  

Everyone is so warm and welcoming there yet also is very serious and devoted to physical fitness.  The owner and staff members helped me to develop a physical fitness plan that compliments my lifestyle.  Since joining, I have started a regimen of Pilates once a week and Personal training once a week.  The way I feel both physically and mentally has benefited immensely from my new routine at Brooklyn Strength.

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Sherri G.

Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn, NY

0 friends

1 review

6/6/2013

I've been a customer of Brooklyn Strength since they opened and have found them to be fabulous.  They worked with me throughout my pregnancy, up until the day before I delivered!  I suffered from a separated pelvis at the very end of my pregnancy and post delivery they have worked with me to strengthen my back.  They have been great and cooperative throughout.  I've also worked with a number of their trainers and have found each of them to be focused on what my specific needs are and how to address my areas of weakness.  I highly recommend them.

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Jennifer C.

Manhattan, NY

0 friends

3 reviews

6/5/2013

I have been going to Brooklyn Strength for a year and a half and in that time, they got me into the best shape of my life!  Thanks to pilates, I ran my first marathon, completely injury free, in January.  The instructors are knowledgable and took the time to really get to know me.  The owner is friendly and caring and the studio has a great neighborhood, family feel.  Also, I love the clean, minimalist style of the studio.  It's a pleasure to work out there!

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Nafisa B.

Brooklyn, NY

0 friends

1 review

6/5/2013

I've worked in the area of Brooklyn Strength for the last 2 years and always walked by but never went in. I had 3 slipped disks in my lower back which bulged leaving me bed ridden and in an unbelievable amount of pain this past October. My neurologist sent me to physical therapy and rehab but also suggested that I try Pilates.  After speaking with  a friend who goes to Brooklyn Strength with her husband, I decided to check it out . It is now six months later and I could not be happier.  I've worked with a number of instructors and love them all. They are all well trained and are constantly attending training to stay at the top of their craft. When I first came in, Cadence and my instructor spent time talking to me to get to know my issues. They reviewed my MRI and set up  a plan of action. I had a couple of session where my regular instructor could not meet with me but she took the time to talk with her replacement to ensure that we were on the same page with my rehabilitation.  I always look forward to my sessions because I know that I will leave feeling 5 times better than when I walked in and will go home with exercises to work on. I am at a point now where I have made a shift in my work from rehab to working out and could not be happier with my progress. It is the personal touch, as well as the well informed staff which makes this studio. I have nothing but amazing things to say about every aspect of my time here.

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Matt H.

New York, NY

0 friends

2 reviews

3/13/2012

I am Matt, I am in my late twenties. I was serious and conscientious and I had a lot of health problems (or "problems") since I was young. When I decided to have an honest conversation with myself about my health, I walked into Brooklyn Strength and asked about what they do.

Cadence, the owner, listened to me and paired me up with a trainer, whose ability to communicate honestly with humor and humility won me over and I began a sometimes three times-weekly routine. I have worked with four of their trainers now. One year later I am in the best shape of my life. As a bonus, I was able to defend myself against a late-night attacker, who fled as I put my fists into position as I was taught learning boxing and muay thai.

Can't say enough. Stop by and talk to them.

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Rachel E.

Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn, NY

0 friends

1 review

8/5/2011

My name is Rachel and I'm almost 70.  I love both the ambience and the instruction at Brooklyn Strength.  Located on a small street in Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn Strength has an ecologically friendly vibe with cork floors and brick walls, views of both trees and, in the distance, the BQE.  I do both Pilates and Strength Training here and have been with about 6 instructors over a twice a week frequency since it opened in January.  All have been excellent.  No matter how I feel when I arrive at the studio, I always feel a lot better when I leave.  There's an aura of intelligence here which I think is somewhat unusual in a place that concentrates on the body.  In addition to benefitting from my sessions at Brooklyn Strength, I also have learned how to exercise at home to keep me fit between sessions.  For me, it's like a totally stimulating yet cozy second home.

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

alex c.

Brooklyn, NY

0 friends

4 reviews

3/2/2011

My name is Alex, and I used to be a gym junkie. 

I admit it. I was in the gym every morning for 1hr, usually at 6am before work and I used to do endless cardio, weight training and resistance.  I even worked with a personal trainer, although I quit doing that because I didn't feel like my trainer really even cared about my fitness as much as their own! It was a 'well known' gym which I will not name and I felt like every other athletic clone there, without a name.  

Fast forward to my discovery of Brooklyn Strength.  My first introduction to Cadence, the owner and I thought "she knows what she is talking about" In my very first lesson, she taught me more about the body than I learned in high-school biology.  She helped me understand why my long and repetitive workouts were harming me more than getting me in shape.   One side of my body is stronger than the other (which is true for many of us) and our one-on-one pilates sessions have helped correct that.  After my first session there was a visible improvement in my step - re-balanced and better posture.  At my second session, Cadence whipped out a Flip camera so that she could document my progress and show me the changes and improvements I achieve over time. I love this personal touch.

I get more out of one hour of concentrated personal training and pilates at Brooklyn Strength than I would out of several days of sweating at a regular gym.  

And, did I mention all of the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgable? They carry some great eco-athletic products such as recycled yoga mats, stylish workout clothes and my favorite organic holistic skincare line Dr. Alkaitis which I cannot find anywhere else in Brooklyn! Everything in the gym - from the floors to the hot towels and hangers they use are recycled and sustainable.  They host really great events as well that offer new services if you want to try them out...that's how I became addicted :)

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review

Rachel G.

0 friends

4 reviews

Brooklyn, NY

4/25/2011

I love this studio. It's got a warm, intimate, community feel and they sell awesome retail products! I love the skin care line and the lotions and candles. All of the trainers are really knowledgeable about anatomy and focused on the client's goals and needs. And you can even do a hybrid session which is a half hour of pilates and personal training each! So excited to get ready to show some skin for the summer!!

Add Public Comment Send Private Message

Flag this review